Board Members

Dr. GVS Murthy

Director, Indian Institute of Public Health Hyderabad, India (PHFI) & Head, South Asia Centre for DISAIBILITY INCLUSIVE DEVELOPMENT AND VISION RESEARCH (SACDIDVR) (ICEH-LSHTM_PHFI Collaboration) is a well-experienced public health, community eye health and public health disability scientist. He established the First Department of Community Ophthalmology in India in 1992 at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. He brings with him tremendous research, academic, policy and programmatic experience. He has been honored by more than 10 prestigious awards and fellowships in his career. He has published 20 books and more than 100 publications in peer reviewed journals. He worked with World Health Organization (WHO) in setting up the control of childhood blindness global program supported by Lions Club International Foundation (LCIF) and UNAIDS, South Asia, India.

Elizabeth Kurian

Elizabeth Kurian is Director of Global Advocacy at Sightsavers, an international organisation working to eliminate avoidable blindness and promote equality of opportunity for disabled people. Prior to this Ms Kurian has held senior positions in Sightsavers, with ORG-MARG Research Ltd/ The Nielsen Company. With over 22 years experience in the social developmental arena, Ms Kurian has expertise in the areas of governance, strategic leadership, research and policy. She is a member of various boards and advisory panels, has shared her experience at several national and international fora and has awards and research publications to her credit. Ms Kurian was a gold medalist at the Masters programme in Nutrition and has done an executive programme in business management from the Indian Institute of Management Calcutta.

Harjeet Singh

He has completed Bachelor degree in Optometry as well as in information technology. Currently pursuing Masters in Optometry. He is involved in eye services since 1988. In the many years he has conducted over 300 eye camps and over 500 lectures over eye care. He is currently working as Ophthalmic Officer in Bathinda, Punjab. Further, he is the General secretary of Punjab Ophthalmic Officer’s Association and treasurer of National Ophthalmic Association (NOA).

Jayanta Bhattacharjee

He has completed Masters in Optometry and is a Fellow of IACLE. He has won many awards and is a trainer associated with many organizations like Johnson & Johnson, DTCL. He has worked with Bausch & Lomb in professional services. Currently he is working as faculty with Vidyasagar College of Optometry & Vision Science. Further, he is the National Representative for Association of Schools and colleges of Optometry (ASCO).

Monica Chaudhry

A post graduate in Optometry, she has over 25 years of experience as an practicing optometrist and an academician at All India Institute of Medical Sciences. Professor Monica Chaudhry is currently Head of Department of Optometry and Vision Science at Amity University. She has presented and published many papers in optometry conferences and even authored books. She is associated with many eye care industries as an advisor and senior faculty .She is also the Joint Secretary of Indian Optometry Association (IOA) and the North region representative of Association of Schools and colleges of Optometry (ASCO).

Prema Chande
Completed graduation in 1992 from Elite School of Optometry, Sankara Netralaya and further completed  M.Optom.  Received fellowships from IACLE and British Contact lens Association and is presently a PhD scholar at Chitkara University.
Has 25 years of experience of working in various positions like Consultant Optometrist in eye hospitals and Optical stores and served as professional services with Ciba Vision, Novartis.
Since year 2000, been heading Lotus College of Optometry as Principal and active faculty member. Headed several large public health projects at Lotus like Mumbai Eye Care Campaign and Mumbai Childhood Blindness programs. Served on Asia Pacific Council of Optometry for four years and is currently on Board of ASCO-India and an active member of the Public Health Committee of World Council of Optometry.
Recently awarded as the Contact Lens Educator of Year 2016 - Asia Pacific Region, by IACLE.
R S Berwal

Has has been awarded Medal for topping in diploma in Ophthalmic Science from PGIMS Rohtak. In addition to completing Master in Optometry (M-Optom) and Master in Hospital Administration, he has several other academic qualifications. He has been providing eye care services to the population since 1985. Currently he is working as Ophthalmic Assistant in General Hospital with Government of Haryana. Further, he is general secretary of HOAA, National Ophthalmic Association (NOA) and Indian Optometry Federation (IOF).

Sougata Chatterjee

Completed Higher Secondary with Science, Diploma in Optometrical Science in the year 1990, Bachelor in Optometry in the year 2007. He has 28 years Optometry practice OPTOMETRIST. He is the Vice President of OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATION OF INDIA.

Vivek Mendonsa

Vivek Mendonsa is currently the Marketing Director of Lawrence & Mayo, established in 1877.Vivek has been instrumental in gearing and expanding the company optical showrooms from 19 when he joined in 1992 to 96 till date and 13 instrument offices with a huge network spanning across 36 cities across India. He heads a team strength of over 1000 employees. He graduated in Commerce from Sydenham College and completed Post Graduate Diploma in Management from Symbiosis Institute of Business Management (SIBM). He is currently the President of the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO). He is also on the Board of Program Advisory Committee (PAC) – Indira Gandhi Open University – IGNOU & YCMOU.